Drivers in West Virginia are now required to give three feet of space when passing bicycles and can be fined for not doing so under a new state law that went into effect Tuesday.
Violating the “three feet rule” can result in a $100 fine for the first offense, $200 for a second offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
Three feet is a little more than half the width of an average car.
In addition to the three feet rule, bicyclists are no longer required to ride as far to the right as possible at all times.
West Virginia joins 23 other states — including neighbors Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia — that require drivers to give at least three feet of space for bicycles, according to data from Safe Cycling, a Florida-based group that advocates for such laws through its “3 feet please” campaign.
Wells said he first introduced the bill last year as a four-foot rule, but opponents said that was too much, and the bill failed.